How effective is swimming?

Options
My legs are incredibly sore from yesterdays workout. I want to go to the gym, but everything will suck! Even if I just did cardio, I'd be using my legs. I'm thinking about maybe swimming today instead but I always feel so weak sauce just swimming...

I know swimming is good for you but not the best. How do you guys feel about exercising through swimming laps?

Replies

• MyaPapaya75
    MyaPapaya75 Posts: 3,143 Member
    Options
    I LOVE swimming almost feel like its one of the best workouts ever ...but I'm not an expert.
  • erickirb
    erickirb Posts: 12,293 Member
    Options
    I would argue that swimming is one of the best as it uses the whole body and works parts of your body that don't get worked doing anything else.
  • AJ_G
    AJ_G Posts: 4,158 Member
    Options
    Extremely Effective
  • WiseAngel2
    WiseAngel2 Posts: 19
    Options
    Swimming is one of the best exercises you can do. It it has zero impact on your joints and really gets your heart pumping while you develop some muscles propeling yourself through the water.

Here's an article on just 10 of the health benefits of swimming: http://health.howstuffworks.com/wellness/aging/retirement/10-health-benefits-of-swimming.htm

Enjoy!
  • krmullig
    krmullig Posts: 43 Member
    Options
    Swimming is a phenomenal exercise. You use every muscle group and you're putting next to no strain on your joints. Try the butterfly stroke if you really want to feel it!
  • swagoner94
    swagoner94 Posts: 220 Member
    Options
    Wow I didn't realize swimming was that good..
    i figured exercises where you actually have impact on the knees and stuff were better for calorie burning?
  • WiseAngel2
    WiseAngel2 Posts: 19
    Options