New to MFP - a few questions....

Hi! I am new to my fitness pal and just had my first day yesterday. I am trying to understand what goals I should be hitting. I let the program calculate my calories needed to lose 1 pound a week with zero exercise committed (although I do plan to work out). It is my understanding that if I do that, each time I work out I should be eating those calories to keep my remaining at zero, thus my net at my original calorie goal of 1520. This way, on days I don't work out I will only be eating 1520 to hit my calorie goal. Does this make sense?

Yesterday the app said that I was under my calories. I had a net of 1462 and a remaining of 58. These were my stats:

Goal: 1520
Food: 1884
Exercise: 422
Net: 1462
Remaining: 58

So net should equal goal and remaining should be zero? This is my first time ever trying calorie counting. I have had great success before with Weight Watchers - mostly with the old core plan. I feel that sometimes my portion control gets out of wack and/or I don't "point" my alcohol properly. I plan to do this now - every bit or drop in gets written down - but I want to make sure that I know how the numbers work so I don't hurt myself unintentionally from the beginning.

Thanks!

Replies

• ArbonneLO
    ArbonneLO Posts: 6
    Stay at or under your goal calorie consumption and you will see results. I find it hard to stay under protein and sugar goals. That's me, based on what I like to eat. Other people probably have different challenges.
  • katz6910
    katz6910 Posts: 156 Member
    That is exactly how I understand it to be. Personally I dont eat back all my exercise calories (maybe that's where I'm going wrong) because I'm never 100% sure it is an accurate count and therefore will result in me over eating. It's a viscous circle sometimes. I'm currently trying to rework this and find a proper balance so I look forward to other peoples replies :happy:

5638134.png