2»

Replies

• MeanderingMammal
    MeanderingMammal Posts: 7,866 Member
    Options
    Rajions wrote: »
    Which FitBit do you have

Its the charge 2

Ok, so the HR capability will be a source of your overestimation.
  • stealthq
    stealthq Posts: 4,298 Member
    edited April 2017
    Options
    I wouldn't worry about it just yet. You won't have ill effects eating your usual ~2300 per day in the short term even if the tracker's estimate is correct.

Eat like normal, or more if you find you're hungry. See what your weight does in a week or two and start eating more calorie dense food if you're losing too fast.
  • malibu927
    malibu927 Posts: 17,565 Member
    Options
    That thing's way off. To burn 3000 calories, most people would have to run for 3 hours straight. Think about that.

I work in retail and on a pretty active day (13,000+ steps) I can easily burn 3000 calories. I'm home from work now, have almost 14,500 steps and am at 2571 calories burned (almost 4 PM). And I'll have another 1500-2000 steps coming between now and midnight. If you're heavier and active, it's very possible.
  • Enjcg5
    Enjcg5 Posts: 389 Member
    Options
    Are all of these "burns" in addition to your TDEE? I'm asking because my friend had a fitbit and assumed she was burning 2,000 calories at work (part time preschool not anything laborious that would burn anything near that!) Im pretty sure that was her TDEE.
  • Theo166
    Theo166 Posts: 2,564 Member
    edited April 2017
    Options
    I wouldn't trust that calorie burn at all
    You might just want to switch your activity level to moderate exercise to compensate for your new job.

3k calories is certainly possible as your TDEE with a workout thrown it on top of the job. You obviously don't want to eat it all back if losing weight.

If I was in your spot, I'd bring a 300 calorie Premier protein bar - 30g of protein and quick to eat.
  • Rajions
    Rajions Posts: 128 Member
    Options