As much as I hated it!

Options
CaseyGabi
CaseyGabi Posts: 10 Member
So I've been on my clean/organic no salt diet now for a week. And I'm so happy to say that I've reached my goal in just a week. Starting weight 145.8. Weight this morning was 139.8! My goal is actually 135 before I start my weight training but I'm just happy I'm in the 130's. Yesterday was tough because I was experiencing a lot of muscle cramps. I'm a nurse and I know how important the blood sodium level is. So today, I'm eating the first bit of salt that I've had in a week. I'm hoping that maybe if I just cut back to adding a little bit to one meal per week, it will keep the cramps away. So I'm sautéing my cabbage in Coconut oil with garlic and onions and I added a pinch of salt. Does anyone have any recommendations on getting my sodium intake without table salt. I won't drink any sports drinks because that's WAY to much sodium. Is there a supplement y'all use? TIA!

Replies

• sofchak
    sofchak Posts: 862 Member
    Options
    I applaud your efforts and congrats on the results, but I agree with the poster above. You need to find a balance. In my own experience, my GP said I ended up with hypothyroidism as a result of avoiding table salt - table salt, AKA the easiest way to get iodine into your daily diet. If you're going to look for a sodium supplement, make sure you also find an iodine supplement. In fact, better advice - go talk to a nutritionist or your GP before eliminating anything from your diet completely. Certain trace nutrients are very important. Good luck!
  • nvmomketo
    nvmomketo Posts: 12,019 Member
    Options
    I just use salt. It is now being recognized that people without health issues do best with 3000-5000 mg of sodium per day. There's 2300mg of sodium in a teaspoon of table salt, so I find I need to add salt in order to get enough sodium.