Cardio before lifting?

Options
xtxtxtx
xtxtxtx Posts: 83 Member
Whenever I Google 'should I do cardio before or after lifting,' nearly every source says to do it after. I always do it before--nothing major, just walking on the treadmill for 20-60 minutes. I don't need to lose weight, I'm a newbie (2.5 months in) and just doing recomp at least right now...I'm 5'1 and 109 lbs. I'm just doing cardio for fun and health, but I still like to do it. It really chills me out to just put on my headphones and walk on the treadmill for a while. Even though all the sources say to do it after lifting, I'm hesitant, because wouldn't that cut into your muscle recovery? Like, your recovery starts the second you put down the weights. And to go on the treadmill right after...that wouldn't hurt my recovery?? I'm confused.

Replies

• gothchiq
    gothchiq Posts: 4,598 Member
    Options
    I do it before because otherwise I seem to be unable to do it at all.
  • stanmann571
    stanmann571 Posts: 5,728 Member
    Options
    ninerbuff wrote: »
    Recovery happens the NEXT day. There is so much woo with the fitness industry on this. The only issue with people doing cardio before lifting is ENERGY LEVEL. If it's affected by it, then the lifting session won't be as intense. But if intense lifting isn't the goal, then it's FINE to do cardio first.

A.C.E. Certified Personal and Group Fitness Trainer
    IDEA Fitness member
    Kickboxing Certified Instructor
    Been in fitness for 30 years and have studied kinesiology and nutrition

9285851.png

This^^^ so much... recovery doesn't really start until you get a nights sleep...
  • sardelsa
    sardelsa Posts: 9,812 Member
    Options