Stuck in a rut and constantly hungry

Options
Sam29a
Sam29a Posts: 201 Member
I have been trying to lose weight for what seems like forever. I'm almost there but I still have lots of problem areas where I have tonnes of fat that I need to get rid of. I had been eating around 1200 calories since January 2016, although I ranged anywhere between 800 - 1300 during that time for the most part. I've had 3 cheat days since then. I've lost weight without exercise but now had got to the stage where I knew I had to start exercising to speed things up and get the body I am after.

Recently I've found that I'm constantly hungry and really miss eating the food that I used to have. I don't want to get back to obese again, but after I've eaten all my calories for the day, I'm still super hungry. I've recently joined the gym, but this hunger problem occurred before I joined. I've upped my calories to 1350, which is about as high as I can go to lose weight I think. Since increasing my calories I have not lost any weight, but I'm hoping in time the weight will come off.

Anyone have any tips or tricks on managing hunger? I feel so demotivated and depressed sometimes when I think about how I'm still not thin. It's been over a year and a half and I'm still not happy with where I'm at. For around 2 months I've been stuck at the same weight, or gaining and losing the same few pounds, what am I doing wrong?

Replies

• robertw486
    robertw486 Posts: 2,390 Member
    Options
    Experiment and figure out what helps with the hunger. High volume foods (salads, fruits, veggies) work for some. For me a giant salad with some protein works. Proteins in general keep me full longer.

Log everything, be honest with your logs, and find the things that make it work for you.

And don't let a lack of quick losses get in your head. If you are maintaining or losing slowly, you are still headed in the direction you want to go. Nobody got big overnight, and getting smaller takes time as well.