Hiring a coach (body/muscle building)

Options
Looking for some input and advice.

What kind of benefit would I gain from hiring a coach or trainer?

So some background:

-I have been lifting for a few years now. I have run two successful bulk/cut cycles, I have built a physique I am very happy with. But just wondering if I could take it to the next level with my next bulk to have more direction on how to continue to build my body, however not looking to compete at this time (but kind of wouldn’t mind training in a similar fashion)

-I have a home gym, so the coach would have to be online (in person could get costly I’d imagine). I also have limited equipment (no squat rack or bench)

-I have run Strong Curves, some other glute programs and now Get Glutes (which is very similar to SC) – 4x per week, full body, glute focus. It has worked wonders so I am not looking to change my routine too much, but maybe something more tailored to my specific goals and weak spots.

-My nutrition/diet is fine, I don’t need help there… nor do I need help with motivation or someone to push me.

So would it even be worth it for me to consider if I am not competing? Or should I just keep doing what I’m doing.

Those of you who have/had coaches/trainers, what is your experience ?

Thanks!

Replies

• rybo
    rybo Posts: 5,424 Member
    edited July 2017
    Options
    My thoughts are yes. Even experienced and already knowledgeable people can benefit from coaching. They offer a fresh perspective without bias. As much as we all want to say we know our own bodies and what we need, we still carry a bias with us.
    Knowing as much as you do, you'll obviously search for a coach that fits your needs & goals. I say it will be beneficial.

And yes I've used a coach in the past even though I didn't "need" one. I'm probably going to seek another one out again as soon as my finances stabilize
  • Ironandwine69
    Ironandwine69 Posts: 2,432 Member
    Options