At the gym, do you follow a specific program or do you wing it?

Options
I've been doing 5x5 strong lifts for a few months and recently started to deviate from the plan. I've been adding more exercises, sometimes using machines instead of the free weights, and occasionally swapping out squats for weighted lunges. What do you guys do?

Replies

• Chef_Barbell
    Chef_Barbell Posts: 6,646 Member
    Options
    I do a specific program that I tailored for myself.
  • sardelsa
    sardelsa Posts: 9,812 Member
    Options
    I have done both... completely winged it and followed a program. However I had much more success when I follow a program. Now, I don't necessarily follow it 100% exactly (since I have some experience and know what works for me and know what I can swap out and adjust rep ranges etc) but for the most part it is wise to follow a program in the beginning especially for most optimal results.
  • myfavoritealpha
    myfavoritealpha Posts: 44 Member
    Options
    I've recently started a modified 5X5 using machines and free weights in the Plant gym alternating w running every other day. I am following the program I set up, but I also realize from the past that you'll have to switch up (exercises and routine) to keep your body from getting used to it and hitting a plateau.
  • xvolution
    xvolution Posts: 721 Member
    Options
    A mix of both, sticking to the same exercises but changing up how long/reps of each exercise as my fitness improves. If it doesn't make me sweat, then it's time to up the intensity or length.
  • sijomial
    sijomial Posts: 19,811 Member
    Options
    Neither option really.

I have my own framework for each workout and the workout week that suits my peculiar needs and restrictions.