Sugar Alcohol?

Options
Does anyone have personal experience with negative effects of sugar alcohol on weight loss?

I've been losing a pound a week for many months, and now for three weeks, no loss.

Three weeks ago, I started eating a protein bar or ice cream sweetened with sugar alcohols and monk fruit. My calories are the same, and activity is the same. My carbs and fiber are higher though. (Carbs under 130 gr, and Fiber 40 -65 grams)

I'm ridiculously meticulous with weighing foods and logging using usda data, so I'm reasonably certain that's not the issue. I no longer have a TOM, I'm "regular", and no evidence of retaining water.

It's been only three weeks, and I may be prematurely concerned, but I'd like to gather some info from the community, including anecdotal or scientific or just plain biased opinion about sugar alcohol's effect. Thanks!

Replies

• alondrakayy
    alondrakayy Posts: 304 Member
    Options
    Can't advice you on the thoughts for sugar alcohols (to me, it doesn't really matter) but I will say you should give it a few more weeks before freaking out. This is coming from a recent experience I had with a weight stall.
  • MarziPanda95
    MarziPanda95 Posts: 1,326 Member
    Options
    If your carbs are higher, it's probably just water weight. Weight loss (whether fat or muscle) is all about calories, so if that's not changed, then any change in the patterns on the scale should just be water - whether from more carbs or possibly from sodium. It's also possible the 'calories out' part of the equation changed, if you changed your daily routine at all. Thirdly, weight loss isn't linear. Give it a while longer before you go changing things. Some people see no loss for a few weeks and then it all goes in a big whoosh!
  • cmriverside
    cmriverside Posts: 33,956 Member
    Options
    Weight stalls are common. I agree, doubtful it's the sugar alcohols.