Bloating - Water intake - Newbie needs advice!!

Options
MizMareedy
MizMareedy Posts: 148 Member
MFP Help!

I've been struggling with feeling very bloated. My water is usually around 90oz per day since I'm heavier (I have about 100lbs to lose overall) the doctor says I should I drink a bit more water.
I am very new to this logging thing and I've been careful to be accurate in measurements of everything I eat (kitchen scale). Previously in life I lost a lot of weight doing weight watchers / other things and calculating points taught me zero about how to nourish my body. So, my friend has pointed me here and so far I really like it and feel more in control and informed about the proper way to weight loss and health.

MFP says I should eat 1440 to lose 1.5lbs per week - but with clean eating I stay around 12-1300 calories. My main goal is to focus on nourishment and eating well - not so much feeling deprived and hungry.

I also do light exercise 3 X a week (so far - walking enough to elevate my HR considerably).
Any suggestions? I've had 2 servings of broccoli and 2 servings of black beans - but could these alone cause me to feel this bloated? This is worse than 'that time of the month' bloating.
Maybe it's just because I'm new - IDK - but the feeling is miserable and I'd like some advice if anyone has any!! TIA!!!

Replies

• christinaostroff
    christinaostroff Posts: 5 Member
    Options
    Black beans and broccoli have a goodly amount of fiber and are both known to cause some digestive discomfort if you aren't used to eating them. My guess is that your body is just trying to adjust to it. I have the same issue if I haven't been eating a lot of fiber and suddenly have something fiber-rich. Ginger tea eases that discomfort for me quite a bit.
  • NannyDuffy
    NannyDuffy Posts: 14 Member
    Options