Book recommendation--weight training for women?

Options
I'm looking for more information on weight training. I'd like something more organized than what I get randomly bouncing around the internet.

I'm basically a newbie--been working with free weights for about a year, but without much of a plan. (The gym's trainer showed me how to do about 2 exercises per body area, and that's what I've done for the year) I'm in maintenance x6 months now after losing 130+ lbs. I just don't really know what my goal is anymore, since it was always losing weight...so now what? I'm thinking a good book on lifting for women will give me some direction.

I've seen mention of New Rules of Lifting, Strong Curves, and Thinner, Leaner, and Stronger.

What would you recommend for an overall plan? Favorite? What to stay away from?

Replies

• middlehaitch
    middlehaitch Posts: 8,483 Member
    Options
    Maybe check the 3 books out from the library, or go browse them in a book store, to decide which one suits you best.

Sorry, I haven't read any of them. I just found a programme (AllPro) from the 'which lifting program is best for you' thread in the 'gaining' sub forum and went at it.

Cheers, h.
  • jemhh
    jemhh Posts: 14,261 Member
    edited October 2017
    Options
    Of those three, I prefer Strong Curves. However, both SC and NROLFW have great glossary/exercise reference sections. I'm not a fan of TLS at all.

Strong Curves - four different programs in all, all are twelve weeks. One is lower body only. One is full body bodyweight only. One is a beginner full body program incorporating bodyweight and weights. One is an advance full body incorporating mostly weights but possibly some bodyweight exercises (cannot remember for sure.) There's a definite emphasis on lower body with this book. Contreras also includes his general workout template so that you can build your own programs too.