Sabotage- Am I wrong here?

Options
I need your opinion here.
I need to lose almost 80 pounds, I have chronic pain, headaches, and depression. All of which I hope will improve as I lose weight. I struggle with portion control. I can eat an entire thing of ice cream, bag of chips, candy, or whatever else in a day. Since I dont have that control I avoid keeping trigger foods around. Im trying to limit my sugar intake as junk is getting in the way of macro goals. (I struggle to hit my protein goal everyday)
Im a college student and still live at home with my mom. Ive talked with her about my goals and asked that she not buy things that are my trigger foods. I feel like she is sabatioging me when she does. Ive tried talking to her many times and she gets mad. Occasionally she will throw things away. To me that is just wasting money, I would prefer if she never bought them in the first place.

She says "I don’t buy them for you, you don't have to eat them". She doesn't eat the stuff, I end up binging on it.
I have a history of binging and bulimia. I know longer binge like I used to, but will still eat an entire container of food in one sitting.

I buy most of my own food. I try to keep healthy stuff around but if there unhealthy stuff I will eat it.
To me its the same if there was an alcoholic living in the house you wouldn't have alcohol around. Why is it any different with food?

Any advice on the situation? Im so tired of being miserable from pain.
How do I avoid this food? how can I help her to understand?

right now Im trying really hard to avoid the candy, Cinnamon rolls, chex mix, and who knows what else is here.

Replies

• tiptoethruthetulips
    tiptoethruthetulips Posts: 3,361 Member
    Options
    It would be great if your mother could support you in the way that you feel she needs to..but in reality, it is her home too, and if she wants snacks etc in the house that she enjoys she should be able to.