Is this formula right or is it me

Options
Hello all,
I am new to macro and when I think I understand it, I seen to get lost again.

I have read a very good post in this group and it was very informative, so thank you. I want to understand macros first so can you help point me in the right direction?

a bit about me

I am 39 years old
Male
183cm
130kg / 287lbs (goal weight 105kg)
Do an office job and attend the gym 4-5 days a week
Loss weight

So from the initial post it runs a formula to work out your protein and fats, which leave you your carbs. I have done this and it looks a bit wrong

Protein: 1 x 287 x 0.8 (LBM) = 229.6g x 4 calories = 918.4 calories divided by 2,164 (calorie target) = 42%

Fat: 0.35 x 287 = 100.45g x 9 calories = 904.05 calories divided by 2,164 = 41%

Carbs: balance of 17%

1. Are these right? Fat side looks off the charts lol
2. How do I find my LBM?
3. Should I base this on the goal weight I want to reach or my current weight?
4. For my weight and to lose, do the calories look like a good starting point?

Sorry for the questions and any help will be appreciated

Rhys

Replies

• cmriverside
    cmriverside Posts: 34,015 Member
    edited December 2017
    Options
    Is there a reason why you don't just use the macros generated by Myfitnesspal, which would be easier, and are just about right for almost everyone? Set your weight loss goal and then just look at your food page for the macros.

Keep it simple...

• JellyRollJimi
    JellyRollJimi Posts: 5 Member
    Options
    You don’t need as much protein as you have listed at your current weight...229 grams isn’t needed. Feel free to get that much if you want, however, you could eat quite a bit less, say 170 grams, which would allow for more carbs if you’d like.
  • cmriverside
    cmriverside Posts: 34,015 Member
    edited December 2017
    Options
    When you enter your stats into Myfitnesspal it takes your goal weight and figures the macros for you.