Eating right and alcohol

Options
Hello all! As a college student, I'm no stranger to alcohol. One might say it's my minor. However, I'm wondering whats the best way to balance eating right and staying within my calorie range while enjoying my drinks on the weekend when going to clubs/parties.

Replies

• gamerbabe14
    gamerbabe14 Posts: 876 Member
    Options
    Low calorie drinks
  • peaceout_aly
    peaceout_aly Posts: 2,018 Member
    Options
    Low-cal drinks - liquor + diet soda, setting a limit and banking calories. Also, pre-logging helps!
  • Cheeks223
    Cheeks223 Posts: 46 Member
    Options
    Good luck with that. It's an everyday struggle for me.
  • bbell1985
    bbell1985 Posts: 4,572 Member
    Options
    It's hard. You don't want to waste TOO many calories on drinks because...it sucks to be hungry. Stop using mixers, or have vodka sodas. I like wine or whiskey straight. I usually try to pre-log my after drink snack as well...so I don't order and eat a whole pizza. I'll make sure there is a pint of halo top in the freezer or something.
  • ahoy_m8
    ahoy_m8 Posts: 3,053 Member
    Options
    Bank calories for the weekend. And when I drink more than budgeted (it happens), I add miles to cardio the next day.
  • Happysoul0317
    Happysoul0317 Posts: 119 Member
    Options
    I agree with everyone above. All smart moves. I just make sure that I get more cardio in if I know I'm going to drink. I also cut my drinks (wine) with flavored seltzer water. It makes it last longer. Just a mind trick that works for me.
  • Janice6543
    Janice6543 Posts: 92 Member
    Options
    Exercise ahead of time.
  • hesn92
    hesn92 Posts: 5,967 Member
    Options
    Maybe eat slightly less on week days so you can go over with drinks on the weekends. Also choose lower calorie drinks. Alcohol is a real bummer. One or two drinks isn’t bad calorie wise but I don’t want to drink just one or two drinks.
  • cwolfman13
    cwolfman13 Posts: 41,874 Member