Weight Training Noob and Conflicting claims.

Options
So I've recently begun my weight(fat) loss journey and discovered weight training may be critical to weight loss. I've read a ton of articles online that say weight training will increase muscles and bigger muscles will increase your metabolism. Which seems okay, but then other articles claim you can't increase muscle mass in a calorie deficit, but the only way to lose fat is by having a calorie deficit.

So what happens when you lift in a calorie deficit? Does muscle mass increase?
I started lifting and exercising about a month ago and notice drastic improvements in my performance ( I lift heavier, run faster, do more reps etc..) does that mean my muscle mass is increasing? So confused.

Replies

• RoxieDawn
    RoxieDawn Posts: 15,488 Member
    edited February 2018
    Options
    http://community.myfitnesspal.com/en/discussion/10611633/gaining-muscle-in-a-deficit/p1

Maybe this will help you see that you can build some muscle in a deficit. Many variable must apply for that to happen. But mostly when you have exhausted your muscle gaining potential in a deficit the most you can do while remaining in a calorie deficit is maintain muscle mass till you reach goal.

Optimally we want to do a very small deficit, adequate protein, follow progressive overload strength program.

Pick an established program from the list for optimal results from your lifting.

http://community.myfitnesspal.com/en/discussion/10332083/which-lifting-program-is-the-best-for-you/p1
  • estherdragonbat
    estherdragonbat Posts: 5,283 Member
    Options
    It's possible to build a small amount of muscle at the outset (newbie gains), but as a general rule, you burn fat in a calorie deficit and build muscle in a calorie surplus. However, lifting in a deficit is helpful for other reasons: