Does it get easier?

Options
I am still really new to maintenance. I have been for a while experiencing hunger/ food preoccupation. I am actually by my charts in about a 80-120 cal surplus at this time, trying to restore some body weight. I am just wondering, does this ever go away? I lost 220lbs, so I know my BF set point is very high. I am just hoping with some weight restoration/ regain, that this gets better. I am all ears from people who might have gone through this. Thank.

Replies

• TavistockToad
    TavistockToad Posts: 35,719 Member
    Options
    psychod787 wrote: »
    I am still really new to maintenance. I have been for a while experiencing hunger/ food preoccupation. I am actually by my charts in about a 80-120 cal surplus at this time, trying to restore some body weight. I am just wondering, does this ever go away? I lost 220lbs, so I know my BF set point is very high. I am just hoping with some weight restoration/ regain, that this gets better. I am all ears from people who might have gone through this. Thank.

A surplus of 80-120 cals per day? So you'll gain approximately a pound a month? That sounds like very slow weight restoration?
  • andreaen
    andreaen Posts: 365 Member
    Options
    What are your macros now?

It will probably get easier, and the hunger might actually be a good thing since it could be your metabolism speeding up. Have you considered doing a reverse diet?
  • psychod787
    psychod787 Posts: 4,088 Member
    Options

A surplus of 80-120 cals per day? So you'll gain approximately a pound a month? That sounds like very slow weight restoration?

YEs, slow and steady. 1/4-1/2 lbs a week. I know that post weight loss, fat comes back on really quick. I resistance train 4 days a week trying to restore lots of Lean mass lost while weight loss. I know that some of it will come back as fat as well.
  • psychod787
    edited March 2018
    Options
    andreaen wrote: »