Should I allow extra calories on museum days?

Options
So my family and I are going to the science museum in Minnesota this Saturday. I’m a nurse who works in a clinic so I have my activity level set to sedentary. For days like this coming Saturday or times that we will be going to the zoo, should I be allowing myself some extra calories? I know walking doesn’t burn that much so maybe like 200 at most? What do you all do for these days?

Replies

• concordancia
    concordancia Posts: 5,320 Member
    Options
    First, I have never met a nurse who considers herself sedentary before. Are you sitting all day? Have you ever worn a pedometer?

What do you do on days you exercise?

For myself, it depends. I usually do not eat more unless I sweat more. However, I am aware that those zoo calories are available if I am genuinely hungry, even after more water or tea and an attempt to distract myself.
  • deannalfisher
    deannalfisher Posts: 5,600 Member
    Options
    do you wear a fitbit or anything similar for step counting? if this is something out of the norm - yes, you should get some extra calories - but it will depend on how much you walk above/beyond your normal
  • goldthistime
    goldthistime Posts: 3,214 Member
    edited March 2018
    Options
    Sure, I would. You’re walking more than normal and doing something kind of vacation-y with family. If I remember correctly, we’re not allowed to bring our own food into my local zoo (probably for fear that we’ll feed the animals), so you may need those extra calories to eat the food they serve there.
  • alicia163425
    alicia163425 Posts: 80 Member
    Options
    First, I have never met a nurse who considers herself sedentary before. Are you sitting all day? Have you ever worn a pedometer?

For myself, it depends. I usually do not eat more unless I sweat more. However, I am aware that those zoo calories are available if I am genuinely hungry, even after more water or tea and an attempt to distract myself.