How to weigh grains

Options
ipmac22
ipmac22 Posts: 74 Member
I am new to weighing my food (finally!) and my question for all of you experienced food weighers out there is when do you weigh grains? Uncooked or cooked? I just weighed farro to portion out with my lunches for the week but it occurred to me the serving size says dry. After cooking, it contains all the water also added. I just want to make sure I'm able to log it accurately after putting in the effort to weigh it. I did a brief thread search but didn't see the answer. Just looking for a little guidance. Thank you for any insight!

Replies

• malibu927
    malibu927 Posts: 17,565 Member
    Options
    Before cooking. If you do happen to weigh after cooking instead, look for an entry for cooked weight.
  • ipmac22
    Options
    Thank you! My bad this time.
  • ipmac22
    Options
    I'm really having a hard time trusting the food scale now. I'm frustrated because for so long I was afraid to use one because I was afraid I'd become obsessive over it. But finally giving in to using it, I'm not sure whether or not to trust it. I bought one off of Amazon that was the most highly rated and reviewed one in the lower price range ($13ish). Today, I measured out my peanut butter powder which is listed as 2 TBS (12 grams) for 50 calories. However, when I weighed it, 2 TBS came nowhere near 12 grams. I would have had to almost double the amount to get to 12 grams. I figured the scale would show me inaccuracies between measuring and weighing, but I didn't think it would be so great and on the light side.

Any insight? How do you know if your scale is accurate? Do you ever worry that you are putting trust into the scale and it could be off?
  • gaelicstorm
    gaelicstorm Posts: 94 Member
    Options