Kind of embarrassed by how much oil I was putting in things

Options
I've never done strict calorie counting before, but I've learned quickly how much oil I had been using vs how much I really need. Examples:

When I made pierogies with onions, I used to use a lot of oil (mostly because I learned the meal while in Ukraine where oil seemed to be a food group). I made it recently with onions and cabbage for more filler. Initially, I think I was going to use 4 Tbsp of oil, but as I created the recipe, and the calories per serving added up, I scaled back my plans to 2 Tbsp. To get calories even lower, I ended up just going with 1 Tbsp (for 2 servings), and it was just fine!

I also make buckwheat, and even though it's for breakfast, I make it with onions, garlic, and a bit of oil. Again, I typically would just coat the bottom of my pot, again as taught in Ukraine, with however much that would be. (I would guess 3-4 Tbsp.) Last time I made it, I limited to 2 Tbsp (for 5 servings). Today, I used just 1 Tbsp (5 servings).

Can't believe what I used before counting!

Replies

• quiltlovinlisa
    quiltlovinlisa Posts: 1,710 Member
    Options
    That's where counting really comes in handy. I too am learning some real portion eye openers.
  • vicelike
    vicelike Posts: 22
    Options
    And in Salad Dressing and sauces.... stealthy calories for sure
  • lindustum
    lindustum Posts: 212 Member
    Options
    Oil is actually the main reason why I rarely get take-aways. Ask any Asian person about how their food is different in the west than from home, they will say (among other things) "it's very oily".

I love chow mein, but if the oil is dripping from my chin I just can't bear it..
  • glin23
    glin23 Posts: 460 Member
    Options
    Oil is actually the main reason why I rarely get take-aways. Ask any Asian person about how their food is different in the west than from home, they will say (among other things) "it's very oily".