Does fitbit really work?

Options
JenasyJen
JenasyJen Posts: 15 Member
edited September 2018 in Health and Weight Loss
My son bought me a fitbit watch thingie and i am new to it. I am just wondering what you all thought based on personal experience. Is it accurate is measuring steps, exercise, calories burnt, ect? (yes i said thingie! lol)

Replies

• FlyingMolly
    FlyingMolly Posts: 490 Member
    Options
    My Alta HR seems to be pretty accurate. I suspect it underestimates my calorie burn a bit--it's mostly meant for walking, so depending on what else you do in a typical day you might find it tends to lean one way or the other for you.

Since I have a lot of variety in my activity level on different days of the week, it's really helpful for me to have it linked to MFP. I glanced back through the last couple of weeks and one day it took away 100 calories from my goal, while on another it added more than 600; I'm glad I'm not trying to work that out myself every day!

My advice is to link it up with MFP (enable negative adjustments!), wear it for a few weeks, and see what happens if you eat what it tells you. Watch how your weight responds and that'll give you a pretty good sense of how well it's working for you.
  • tbright1965
    tbright1965 Posts: 852 Member
    Options
    It was within a mile of MapMyRide and my odometer on my bike. They all claimed I rode between 52.6 and 53.4 miles today.

So that part seems pretty accurate.

I don’t trust the calorie burn estimates.

I don’t think I burned between 4800 and 5200 calories as they all estimate.

So they work, but one has to take some of the numbers with a grain of salt.

They are pretty good for comparison from day to day. But don’t try to go to the moon or train for the olympics with one.
  • Keto_Vampire
    Keto_Vampire Posts: 1,670 Member
    edited September 2018
    Options