Taking My Stand and Reclaiming My Life

Options
I have been down this road more times than I can count. I have started my weight loss journey at 200 pounds, 210 pounds, 220 pounds, 230 pounds, 240 pounds and now at 247 pounds. I'll be 36 soon and I've wasted too many years of my life accumulating weight when I should have been accumulating memories. I've been on a steady gain since 2002. At my smallest, I was 170 pounds when I graduated high school. Now I weigh more than I did when I was 9 months pregnant with my son. I'm 3 pounds away from 250 pounds, and I'm only 5'3"!!!! What the heck?!?!?!

I'll tell you - I have a problem with food. I eat it and I don't care. I use every excuse under the sun to eat. Having a good day? Great, let's celebrate with food. Having a bad day? Here's some chocolate to make it all better? Angry at the husband? Let's just eat to get back at him (because we all know that does absolutely nothing, but I do it anyhow.) Bored? Eat. Tired? Eat. Food, food, food. Every excuse for it except for one: to give me nourishment and sustain my health.

Well, that changes. Now. I'm so sick and tired of being sick and tired. I'm done spending my days laying on the couch feeling sick because I've eaten too much again. I'm done explaining to my son that mommy can't play because she's tired. The truth is mommy's tired because mommy won't get off her butt and get moving. I admit it. It's about time. Maybe if I had admitted it all these years ago I wouldn't be in the place I'm at now.

But that's okay because I've learned a lot of lessons. I know what works. I know what doesn't. I know what I can keep in the house and what I can't. I'm done with the excuses, I'm done with the laziness, I'm done with being the chubby girl who blends into the background while the rest of the world takes off like a shot. I am taking my stand and I am reclaiming my life. It starts now.