Question for Daily walkers

Hi. I've been walking 2-3 miles 6-7x a week for the past 3 months now. I bought a good pair of Nike Air Max shoes a couple weeks after I started walking and loved them. But for the past week my feet have been hurting horribly. I think I've worn my shoes out already. How long should good shoes last when I walk nearly everyday?? I've only had these shoes nearly 3 months now.

Replies

• Tacklewasher
    Tacklewasher Posts: 7,122 Member
    ~500 miles? Or is that just for running?

So say 2.5 miles 6X per week for 12 weeks is 180 miles.

Yeah, they shouldn't be worn out by then. Might be the wrong shoes for your gait. Go to a good running store and have someone watch you walk around or on a treadmill.
  • tulips_and_tea
    tulips_and_tea Posts: 5,734 Member
    They just might not be the right shoes for you. It does take some trial and error.

I rotate through several pairs of walking shoes so that I wear the same pair every 3 or 4 days. I walk 7 - 8 miles about 4 x per week. I've found Asics and Under Armour work well for me but might not be right for you.

Make sure you get shoes specifically for walking. Early on I made the mistake of wearing running shoes but they are not good for walking long distances.
  • AvandHK
    AvandHK Posts: 36 Member
    Just make sure they fit right and the when your foot hurts that just means it’s getting stronger believe it or not it’s a thing it happened to me too but nowadays it almost never happens so it’ll be ok that’s my guess
  • TavistockToad
    TavistockToad Posts: 35,719 Member
    Sketchers for walking for me, super comfy and light
  • FL_Hiker
    FL_Hiker Posts: 919 Member
    I agree maybe just not the right shoes for you. I walk my dog two hours everyday in a pair of shoes that are probably close to 10 years old, they’re way over used but my feet never hurt... maybe you have orthopedic issues? Are you flat footed or have a high arch? Worth trying an insole maybe too.
  • Running2Fit