Body Composition and Setting Goals on MFP

Hi all, I'm at the point where my BMI, Body Fat %, and weight are in healthy/average ranges. I just want to change my body composition and change my body fat percent from 24% to 18%. Should I set my calorie intake to lose weight (.5 or 1 pound a week) or leave it maintenance and just focus on my workouts? Thanks!

Replies

• kitkat4141
    kitkat4141 Posts: 379 Member
    Eat at maintenance and focus on workouts. Lift heavy!
  • tomcornhole
    tomcornhole Posts: 1,084 Member

^^^ This. But it is a very inefficient approach to lowering BF%. A more efficient approach is to eat at a surplus, lift heavy weights and build some muscle. Then do a cut to reduce fat. But that requires your weight to go UP and that can be psychologically terrifying. I'm new to maintenance and have no desire to gain weight so I am eating at maintenance and doing heavy lifting. The common belief is you cannot gain muscle and lose fat at the same time. While this might be easy to buy into, I have been doing it. I have dropped my BF by 3% while maintaining my goal weight of 185 lbs. But it is slow. But I'm not mentally ready to bulk, and it's summer and I like how I look without a shirt on right now. I'll do a bulk this winter. Then cut in the spring.

Tom
  • CoderGal
    CoderGal Posts: 6,800 Member