Zero sodium bread

Options
dauchsmom
dauchsmom Posts: 75 Member
In one forum I mentioned that one does NOT need salt in most bread recipes to make bread. Well, the "experts" tried to tell me differently. Salt is added to bread to enhance flavor, it does NOTHING ELSE in most recipes (I've not found one yet and I've been baking bread since I was twelve years old).

So today I decided to prove it.

The recipe is in the link and the proof is in the bread selfie!
qi84uj7sx2ix.jpg

Two loaves, 12 helpings, NO SODIUM!

Replies

• RunsWithBees
    RunsWithBees Posts: 1,508 Member
    Options
    How did it taste without salt?
  • ljmorgi
    ljmorgi Posts: 264 Member
    Options

The no-salt bread we make at home tastes like bread.
  • RunsWithBees
    RunsWithBees Posts: 1,508 Member
    Options
    ljmorgi wrote: »

Cool! I don’t need to watch my sodium so it’s all the same to me but I was curious about the taste and if it affected texture. I wonder if manufacturers use salt in bread not only as a flavor enhancer but as a preservative too? Perhaps it lengthens the shelf life of the bread?
  • lynn_glenmont
    lynn_glenmont Posts: 9,979 Member
    Options

Cool! I don’t need to watch my sodium so it’s all the same to me but I was curious about the taste and if it affected texture. I wonder if manufacturers use salt in bread not only as a flavor enhancer but as a preservative too? Perhaps it lengthens the shelf life of the bread?

Salt also helps regulate the yeast -- i.e., if you added too much salt, it would inhibit the yeast so much that the bread wouldn't rise. But in some breads it's desirable to keep the yeast from getting carried away.
  • jgnatca
    jgnatca Posts: 14,464 Member
    Options
    In my bread maker experiments I could reduce the sugar but not the salt.

I just couldn’t get enough loft.
    It’s not like a lot of salt is needed.
  • dauchsmom
    Options

My family loved it! :) I liked it very much as well
  • dauchsmom
    Options
    TeaBea wrote: »