Keto and pcos

Options
flan32
flan32 Posts: 12 Member
Hey I’m newer to this but I have been doing keto for the last 3 months and it has changed my life❤️ I also have pcos and well if you have it you know most things don’t work the same way as they do for everyone else. It’s nice to get feed back from ppl on keto but I would love to have some pcos friends keto or anything that works for you. Motivation is the key.
Feel free and add me as well can’t wait

Replies

• tarmeciaj
    tarmeciaj Posts: 1 Member
    Options
    Hey! I also have PCOS. I want to get pregnant really bad. My doctor has me on Metformin(devil pill) and birth control. I haven't been taking the metformin because it hates me and I hate it. But after today's doctors appointment I will start back at one a day and working my way up to two. He also wants me to jump on the keto train! Praying in four months of taking meds and keto I can get off and be ovulating on my own. Pray for me guys
  • 277to161
    277to161 Posts: 6 Member
    Options
    PCOS
    Given the strong connection to excess weight, high insulin levels, and other metabolic problems, a low-carb diet should be ideal for reversing PCOS. The low-carb diet is the only treatment that consistently and reliably lowers insulin levels and reverses the metabolic issues that include PCOS. Therefore, a low-carb diet should be the core of any effective treatment for PCOS.

Indeed, the limited available science shows great promise:

One small 2005 study followed 11 women with PCOS as they went on a ketogenic low-carb diet for six months. The 5 women who completed the study greatly improved their weight, hormonal status and perceived amount of body hair. Two of them became pregnant despite previous infertility problems.
    A 2013 study shows that even a very modest reduction in carbohydrates (from 55 to 41 percent of energy) can result in significant improvements in weight, hormones and risk factors for women with PCOS.2