Noob here! need some assistance!

Options
Hello all!

Not sure this is how to introduce myself but after reading the guidlines it seems like this is a friendly and helpful community. So my story is as follows. I am currently a 36 year old out of shape work in a cubicle guy, that is totally done being out of shape and ashamed to take my shirt off outside. I was never really an active person, but over the last 5 or so years I have gained an estimated 30-35 lbs. When I was younger I could eat anything and not worry, never had a gut, but I was very low in muscle. The first time I met my wife, i had a shirt on that said "Chicks dig scrawny white guys" Needless to say she loved it but I can no longer fit in that tee shirt let alone fall into that category. I have tried it all in the past, checking out gyms and talking to buddies about what to do and how often to do it. I could never stick to anything longer then a few days maybe a week at the most.

I usually spend my free time playing video games on the computer or xbox360. I am a smoker and really want to quit. Once a week I would walk our dog and maybe go for a mile walk during break at work. I am bored and fustrated at how much belly fat I have gained. I remember being 5'11" and weighing like 150-160. I am currently at 205 and hate my body. I am ashamed everytime I look down and see my gut instead of my feet.

I have also had some minor back troubles because of playing so much video games and working at a desk with horrible posture for so many years. My wife was in a car accident last year and she also hurt her back and has been in PT for a few months now trying to recover. I honestly just want to be able to take my shirt off and not cringe, I am not overly obsessed with my appearance but I would like to be proud instead of ashamed.