Alcohol and Weight Loss

Jaymie
Jaymie Posts: 235 Member
edited September 21 in Health and Weight Loss
Is this true???

I have heard that alcohol inhibits your body's ability to burn fat and slows down your metabolism??

Replies

• RDTaylor13
    RDTaylor13 Posts: 160
    Alcohol is really just sugar, and turns to fat after it enters your system. you don't have to avoid it all together, but have it in moderation, and remember, that any alcoholic drinks you have will count towards your daily calories.
  • HealthyChanges2010
    HealthyChanges2010 Posts: 5,831 Member
    Is this true???

I have heard that alcohol inhibits your body's ability to burn fat and slows down your metabolism??
    Drinking alcohol while working on dropping lbs. sure doesn't help the process. It does slow it down..

I have been exercising vigorously for two months (every other day) and have changed my eating habits, but haven't lost any weight. I do drink alcohol almost every day. Could that be the reason why I haven't lost? "

A "alcohol can slow the process by which your body burns fat. The alcohol calories you consume aren't stored. Instead, they're converted to acetate, a type of fuel that the body burns quickly. As a result, you burn off your alcohol calories before you burn the fat you are trying to eliminate by increasing your exercise and cutting back on your food intake.

Also, alcohol can actually stimulate your appetite, loosen your inhibitions and undermine your willpower, causing you to eat more than you planned.