When you started maintenance, did you have a hard time deciding how to spend your extra calories?

2»

Replies

• rsj7799
    rsj7799 Posts: 74 Member
    I just stayed in a slight deficit so I could eat out with family once a week and not go over.
  • laurenhugs23
    laurenhugs23 Posts: 153 Member
    Orphia wrote: »
    I can't even remember. Yes, it's tough to switch from a weight loss mindset and not aim for a deficit daily or want a downward trend on the weight graph.

But my exercise burn has always been different every day. I just go by weekly net limit now instead of sticking to a daily limit. Should have done that all along.

Either way, I just have always eaten/ate according to the calories I was allowed, and ate the foods I felt would make me feel good on the day.

Can you explain how you figure out weekly net limit. I'm very new to maintenance and your sound very similar to me. My TDEE is a all over the place.
  • JennJ323
    JennJ323 Posts: 646 Member
    I may have a little bigger portion at dinner, or I've kept it at my original set goal so I can have some saved up for the weekend. I usually don't track as strict on the weekends or I go out, so it's nice to have some extra saved up.
  • GBO323
    GBO323 Posts: 336 Member
    I'm in my maintenance weight range but won't turn back on the extra calories until I hit Target Weight. Depending on the craving, I will make my meals larger...or add REAL butter sometimes...or eat smaller dinner and enjoy a dessert. I worked hard...time to play hard...but within specs. :)
  • oceangirl99
    oceangirl99 Posts: 161 Member