Food anxiety

:# So I'm by no means an expert, but I just wanted to know if others relate. I'm learning to be better, but I used to borderline obsess over eating healthy. Not only that lot of situations related to food could totally ruin my day. I would miss social events simply if I knew people were eating. Not because i didn't want to go, but because i knew they would eat unhealthy. Simple things like eating a food without knowing the calories would send me into a "screw it" mentality and I would binge eat. Well I'm working on getting better and know u peeps aren't alone if u relate. One thing I found to help, is that, like generalized or social anxiety, exposure helps. Learning that eating something without knowing the calories or eating "unhealthy" foods isn't gonna make me immediately gain is a learning process for me! But I've learned that forcing myself into doing these things little bits at a time has really helped.

Replies

• kshama2001
    kshama2001 Posts: 28,053 Member
    Yes, I used to stress at family buffets when I first started logging but learned to relax and enjoy :)
  • MikePTY
    MikePTY Posts: 3,814 Member
    It's certainly a journey for all of us. But it gets easier. Today I didn't even blink when turning down a piece of office cake cut especially for me. I don't think I could have done that 6 or even 3 months ago.
  • ColeSlaw1234
    ColeSlaw1234 Posts: 47 Member
    noodlesno wrote: »
    I can 100% relate. When people ask me what's been the toughest bit of losing 100lbs, 100% it has been the mental fight with anxiety over food and over exercise.

What I have done (I am no expert or have it figured out btw);

1) I have actually done a short course in CBT to equip me with the tools to learn to cope
    2) I take diet breaks (mostly over holidays/vacations) I need a week at least every 3/4 months were I mentally step back and stop obsessing