Have you tried GLP1 medications and found it didn't work for you? We'd like to hear about your experiences, what you tried, why it didn't work and how you're doing now. Click here to tell us your story

Long Distance Running

I've been running for a year now but i have a really painful and embarrassing problem. I get to around 6km/7km and i get terrible cramp in my stomach which is often followed by a bowel movement, more often though, its diarrhoea.
I have been to the doctor and was prescribed imodium, but it doesn't work. I have tried different foods and cutting out foods before a run, the result is the same. I just don't know what to do.
Has anyone else had this problem? Or does anyone else have any tips for me to try?

Replies

• firef1y72
    firef1y72 Posts: 1,579 Member
    I take imodium instants before any long run/race.
    One an hour before I'm due to start, another 30min before and final one just before I run.
    It's a very common issue with longer distance runners, after all one of the simple remedies often given for constipation is to go for a walk.
    Don't eat anything new in the 24hours before a long run, or spicy
  • LyndaK32
    LyndaK32 Posts: 54 Member
    Thank you for replying 😊 i'll give the immodium a go again using the timings you gave, the doc only told me to take 'one before you run' which is probably why it didnt work lol
  • spiriteagle99
    spiriteagle99 Posts: 3,730 Member
    For me, I try to be careful about not eating fat, fiber, or a lot of sugar before a long run. Try going for bland and simple carbs. See what affects you and what doesn't. Maybe avoid dairy too?
  • sarabushby
    sarabushby Posts: 784 Member
    edited March 2019
    Athletes tend to avoid fibre for 24-48 hrs prior to their race, you could see if it makes a difference.
  • SchweddyGirl
    SchweddyGirl Posts: 244 Member