Warrior Dash - Mud Run

Options
I needed to try something different so I signed up for the Warrior Dash mud run. I'll be doing it with four others, all new to the event. I'm in fairly good shape (for an old guy) recently lost 55 lbs doing elliptical and weight training, but due to some shoulder issues I needed to move away from resistance training for awhile. I'm not a runner, have never enjoyed it, but felt I needed to move into something I'm capable of doing even though I'm not very good at it.
Has anyone completed a Warrior Run event?

Replies

• emmamcgarity
    emmamcgarity Posts: 1,593 Member
    Options
    If you are not currently running you might want to look into the couch to 5k program to prepare for the event. How long do you have to train?
  • L1zardQueen
    L1zardQueen Posts: 8,754 Member
    Options
    Is it a 5k? The 5k I was in, I came in dead last. I’m a runner but I have a bad shoulder, my shoulder is what failed me. Mud runs are crossed off my bucket list. Yay!

Keep your friends close during the race, if you can. The friend I went with was the best, she helped me so much.
  • MikePTY
    MikePTY Posts: 3,814 Member
    Options
    I did a race similar to that. Do you think you will be able to do the obstacles with your shoulder issues? A lot of them likely involve climbing of some sort.
  • autumnblade75
    autumnblade75 Posts: 1,660 Member
    edited June 2019
    Options
    I've done a couple, but it's been a few years. As of 2014, Warrior Dash was tame enough that anyone should be able to complete it. And they stopped the chipped timing that year, so nobody even cares how long it takes you. None of the obstacles required even as much upper body strength as a single pull-up. Tough Mudder requires teamwork, but Warrior Dash can be done solo. You'll be finding mud a week later in places you didn't even know you had places. Don't wear your best gear - it will never be clean again.
    fr6h2dofbdie.jpg