Best way to loose weight

Options
amioc
amioc Posts: 175 Member
Hi I’m new to the diet and fitness world I’m 32 and a bit flabby I’m 5ft3inches currently weigh 60kg My goal is to be 54kg. Could anyone please advise me on the best diet to loose weight and the best exercises to tone up? Many thanks ami

Replies

• paperpudding
    paperpudding Posts: 8,992 Member
    Options
    You are already well within the healthy BMI range

• ceiswyn
    ceiswyn Posts: 2,256 Member
    Options
    'Toning up' means building muscle. That requires some level of strength training. Think in terms of squats, bench presses, overhead lifts, crunches. If you don't have access to a gym, there are sites such as DAREBEE that offer workouts for varying levels of ability that use only your bodyweight. If you find that strength work in the gym bores you, some gym classes such as BodyPump will also tone you, but more slowly. G'luck!
  • Sharon_C
    Sharon_C Posts: 2,132 Member
    Options
    Agree with ceiswyn. Toning means building muscle, however, you can't build muscle and lose weight at the same time because building muscle requires a calorie surplus. Weight training is recommended to maintain muscle mass so muscle isn't depleted during a cut.
  • amioc
    amioc Posts: 175 Member
    Options
    Hi yes I did read it thank you it’s a big help 😊 my calories on MFP are set to 1,200 which I’m finding it very hard to stick too I’m hungry all the time! Do you think 1,200 is to low or is that what I need to stick too?
  • Panini911
    Panini911 Posts: 2,325 Member
    edited June 2019
    Options
    amioc wrote: »
    Hi yes I did read it thank you it’s a big help 😊 my calories on MFP are set to 1,200 which I’m finding it very hard to stick too I’m hungry all the time! Do you think 1,200 is to low or is that what I need to stick too?

you got great advice on this question in the other thread, the rate of loss of 2lb/week was much too high thus the super low calories. set it for 0.5lb/week.