Best tracker for use with MFP

Hi all, I’m new to MFP but so far it’s working a treat and I’m losing the weight!!

What is the best activity tracker people use for accurately counting steps... and also calculating calories burned throughout the day normally and doing exercises like Pilates, swimming and long walking?

I bought a Fitbit charge 3 to help with tracking exercise and calories burned and I am sorry to say I’m returning it due to its inaccuracy of steps counting and calories burned.

I’m looking at the Garmin Vivoactive 3 which seems ok. I’m not bothered about the fancy smart watch stuff... although would be nice to use as a watch as well.

Most importantly is the accuracy of steps and calories burned and easily linking with MFP.

Any suggestions welcomed!

Thanks

Mario

Replies

• autumnblade75
    autumnblade75 Posts: 1,660 Member
    I have both a Fitbit and a Garmin device. They report similar step counts if I wear both. Fitbit may report a slightly higher calorie burn than I actually earn, but I also do a lot of arm movements that are not steps at work. Both devices count them as steps. Garmin would starve me.

I like the running data that the Garmin supplies. I do outdoor runs with both devices strapped to my wrist. Fitbit provides more accurate overall data to MFP so that I can better manage my weight.

I have considered that I could switch to a clip-on model of Fitbit if I wanted to reduce the step-count generated by arm movements. I might still go that route when my current Charge 2 dies. I will definitely not switch to the Garmin.
  • curlsintherack
    curlsintherack Posts: 465 Member
    None of them.

Its all just a guess. Any of them are probably close but none will be spot on no matter how much you want it to be. Just get the one that has the features you want notifications, workout tracking, messaging and take the fitness tracking calories with a grain of salt.