How accurate are most of the exercise calorie burns on this site?

Options
For example, I rode (leisurely) my bike to the store this morning. 10 minutes total both ways. I went to add that in, and I see a listing that says: "Bicycling, <10 mph, leisure (cycling, biking, bike riding)". So I click on that and enter 10 minutes. It then populates calories burned at 82. Which seems more than I feel I burned. But I have no way to actually knowing how much was burned. And I'm new to paying attention to any of this. So I really have no idea.

And I guess second question; is there a way to know for sure? Will a fitness band like a fitbit or something similar give me an accurate, or a good estimate on things like that? Because you can change the calorie number. So if I had an outside source that was more accurate to what I actually did I could just change it. I do a lot of small amount of exercises like that thought each day. But I've never really considered adding them all up and seeing what they are doing for me. And today I thought maybe I should. Adding that to the actual 30 minute workouts I do I could then see what my actual total burn was for each day.

Thanks in advance for taking the time. :)

Replies

• pmdonnelly
    pmdonnelly Posts: 4 Member
    Options
    Another thing is to set targets that are not calorie related. For example, maybe try to get the average heart rate up. I find time and duration to be less effective than average heart rate and pace.
  • RunsWithBees
    RunsWithBees Posts: 1,508 Member
    Options