A word of caution and a Happy New Years from a very old time member

Hey all, happy New Years to all.

I last checked my MFP news feed some time ago and the months since my streak was 1400 days are fading further into history.
You see, I used to be the picture of heath - the person giving the advice to be careful and do things in a slow and steady way. I’m a qualified personal trainer with years of experience working within a very niche, demanding aspect of fitness.

What could go wrong?

I was in this community for a long time, I was a moderator for several years and absolutely loved the community. The problem is, I became a victim of my obsession.
I could feel myself being more and more taken aback by having to moderate threads giving advice that I wasn’t following, by having to help keep the forum a safe place for all when my life wasn’t staying on that healthy lane.

I decided that it was for the best for MFP and for my own mental health, to take a step back and try to find help. I’d started to fall into a very unhealthy eating cycle, regularly burning far more calories in a day than I was consuming.

Now, I’ve left the fitness industry altogether and I’ve been getting help for the last 6 months. I still struggle and I’m far from body image happy. But, I’m not in the dark place I was.

I’m not coming back here to preach how you should live the perfect life, I’m just wanting to make a point that even somebody with years of experience in giving health advice to people can fall down a dark hole - anybody can.

Be safe in 2020 and onwards - your long term health is more important than short term goals

And to all the MFP team - you’re awesome, happy New Years. I look back on my years with MFP with fondness and miss all the friends within the community and fellow volunteers and community team that I was alongside.

Be well everybody!
I’m trying to stick around, this time getting my health in a better place.

Replies

• nutmegoreo
    nutmegoreo Posts: 15,532 Member