Do You Take A Rest Day?

Options
I'm curious if others take a rest day from exercise, and why or why not? ...and if you don't, how long have you been exercising every day?

I haven't taken a rest day in over a yr... I want to sometimes and have been told I should but I just haven't been able to so I'm wondering what others do.

Thanks for replies :)

Replies

• happysherri
    happysherri Posts: 1,360 Member
    Options
    I usually take a rest day, because I heard the same thing (that your body needs a day to recover). I didn't take a rest day last week and now I'm super sore. This week I decided to do light Yoga or Stretching and walking on my "off" day.
  • onandoff
    onandoff Posts: 122 Member
    Options
    I'm pretty new to the whole fitness thing so just let you know my 2cents...
    At first I started slow with 3 days a week, then made it to 7 days a week, but now (for the last 3 months or so) I made it a habit for 6 days out of 7, because I feel I need it after working hard the previous days. I usually follow the program recomendation at this. Don't wanna repeat what many people say but I do believe it's good to give your body a break, from time to time, for muscle recovery, even when you don't do the same muscle group every day.
  • Leadfoot_Lewis
    Leadfoot_Lewis Posts: 1,623 Member
    Options
    I make it a point to not work out over 3 days (preferably 2) without a rest day.

I think it really depends on what your exercise regime is. If you walk a mile everyday, you probably don't need a rest day. If you lift heavy 4-5x a week, you would be stupid IMO not to take a rest day every few days. Really just depends on the intensity of your workouts.
  • ramshareen
    Options
    1:10 ratio of resting :tongue:
  • dbmata
    dbmata Posts: 12,950 Member
    Options
    I'm curious if others take a rest day from exercise, and why or why not? ...and if you don't, how long have you been exercising every day?