Anyone overcome plantar fasciitis?

Options
I acquired plantar fasciitis late in my recent pregnancy. My son is now two months old, which means I've been limping around with this for over four months! I stretch it out (with a ball) as often as possible, wear running shoes all day, and rest it as much as possible. I seem to re-injur it every few hours during the night when I have to get up to feed my son. I barely am able to walk the dogs around the block and I'm sore the rest of the day. I am dying to go for a run and get back to roller derby!
Can anyone tell me there is hope of this going away!? Do I need cortisone shots? Is there something I should be doing? Should I just "tough it out" or rest it?

Replies

• bobbystrongarm
    Options
    I've been trying to help my mother get over this recently. Like you, hers keeps coming back. She cycles ~100 miles a weekend. Her legs are already very tight from doing this, specially when she hill climbs on her rides. She lives on a hill so during the week when she walks her dog she it causing all sorts of issues. If she simply cuts out the hill walking during the week and wears an insole with arch support it almost 100% goes away.

If you are already practicing the proper stretching routines it might be time to see a doctor about it. A good pair of orthopedic inserts can help a ton.

There are certain activities that can trigger events. Walking up hill, calf intensive exercises, further activity once your calves are already tight.

If its not coming about from a particular activity that is known to cause plantar fasciitis symptoms you should really go in a speak with a doctor. I'm no doctor, but if you are having onsets with no obvious cause its sounds to me like some sort of treatment is in order.

BTW simply being too over weight can be the cause of it. I know when my mom was first having issues with it the very first thing the doctor said, "well your fat."
  • Seabreeze1969
    Options