Help with MACROS and fat loss

Hey Everyone, I'm new to MFP. I'm 38 and I weight 195 lbs. I'm 5'9 and a pretty stocky guy. Body fat is maybe 27%. Mostly have a semi beer gut and dbl chin. My goal is to lose body fat and get fit. I exercise 5 days a week 30-60 minutes. After lots of research I setup my macros as follows with a 500 cal deficit for weight loss. CAL: 1,600 CARBS: 25% (100g) FAT: 20% (36g) PROTEIN: 55% (220g). I'm finding it nearly impossible to eat that much protein. I caved in and purchased a bunch of different vegan protein powders (WHEY messes my system up). I'm drinking 3-4 protein drinks a day each ranging from 20g-30g of protein a day to try and hit my macros and still struggling. Instead of loosing weight I'm gaining weight. Not just b/c of increased muscle mass. My waist line is bigger. Should I be drinking that much protein? Am I doing something wrong?

Replies

• lgfrie
    lgfrie Posts: 1,449 Member
    edited June 2020
    The 500 calorie deficit is spot on and you are well-positioned to lose that beer gut and double chin. So many people come through here like "I'm going to eat three pieces of lettuce and a piece of tofu, and work out 5 hours per day, is this a good plan?" But you're already ahead of the game by setting a reasonable deficit you'll be able to live with. At 168 pounds you will be at a Normal BMI, and could achieve that in approximately 27 weeks with that deficit. Good stuff.

55 % protein sounds absurd; no wonder you are having trouble choking it all down! I agree with @cmriverside , 40/30/30 is a good macro split and a worthy generic, all-purpose starting point. Some of us fine-tune the macros to our own tastes and proclivities. I don't pay much (i.e. "any") attention to macro goals, but have noticed over time that I'm usually 35 % carb, 35 % fat, 30 % protein. Definitely not feeling deprived of meat with that ratio. I really think 30 % is plenty.