Started lifting weight but need to cut belly fat??

Options
Background: I have started lifting weights (usually 15-20 minutes 3-4 times a week I also do cardio for 30 minutes usually on the elliptical.) I hit shoulders, abs, arms, thighs/booty. (I am a complete noob at it...)

I am 118 5ft 5 ins. I've gotten there from a high 7 years ago of 180. (It was a gradual loss.) But I swear to the good lord I'm ready to go get a flipping tummy tuck!!! :( I'm very frustrated with it and have actual shed a couple of tears...lol My tummy should be flat but its not. There's a bit that "hangs" over my belly button and I just hate it. :explode: :explode: I've decided to give my body a chance to respond to weightlifting and the ab exercises and cut sugar out...

But I need some advice:

I usually eat about 1300-1400 calories a day. I want to get stronger (add a bit of muscle) and lose what I'm hoping is the little bit of fat on my tummy... pretty sure it's not extra skin. Since I started working out I've ended up eating some of those calories because I was well under the 1200 calories everyone says you should eat. Should I not worry about being below that "magical" 1200 number? Could the tummy problem be what I'm eating? Are there recommendations for a lifestyle change eating program?

Replies

• chinagirl3343
    Options
    And a maybe a beginner weightlifting program?
  • JenMc14
    JenMc14 Posts: 2,389 Member
    Options