7 wks of cardio and nothing? Why?

2»

Replies

• GazelleLady
    GazelleLady Posts: 131 Member
    There is also a possibility that you gained muscle and lost fat, which might not make you lose weight. Muscle weighs more than fat.
  • Bluetail6
    Bluetail6 Posts: 2,874 Member
    I can assume I'm a rocket scientist but that doesn't make it so. Track your food. With a food scale. You can't outrun your fork.

^^ Truer words were never spoken!!
  • GazelleLady
    psuLemon wrote: »
    There is also a possibility that you gained muscle and lost fat, which might not make you lose weight. Muscle weighs more than fat.

With only doing cardio, quite unlikely

Why would it be unlikely? I am not disagreeing with you, but I am just curious.
  • nooshi713
    nooshi713 Posts: 4,877 Member
    Weigh your food in grams and use the usda entries in the database.
  • Chieflrg
    Chieflrg Posts: 9,097 Member
    No.
  • cwolfman13
    cwolfman13 Posts: 41,879 Member
    joowelz wrote: »
    I’ve resumed my workout routine since my gym reopened seven weeks ago. I run on the treadmill for 30 minutes at 5.5-6.0 m/ph speed. That’s very intense for me. I have NOT been tracking my daily caloric intake and assume i am getting 1800-2200 calories per day. My target for a deficit is 1700.

But no results whatsoever???! That seems harsh given how invasive the running routine is in my life. My feet, legs etc ache and i’m physically tired. Nothing? Not even one pound?

Does exercise even matter then????

Diet is going to have a much more pronounced impact on losing weight than exercise ever will. I assume you've heard the phrase, "you can't outrun your diet." It's a whole lot easier to create a calorie deficit through diet than through exercise. Exercise does expend more energy (calories), but in reality doesn't burn as much as people think. 30 minutes of running isn't going to burn a huge number of calories, however, it is very good for your overall health.