Binge eating

I had been restricting calories for about 2 months and I had lost around 10kg in total but out of nowhere my willpower disappeared and I have now been binge eating for the past 10 days. I have eaten around 2000 calories over my maintenance so I have been eating 4000-5000 calories Everyday and it seems like I have lost control of myself. Please help me and tell me how I can stop binge eating and how I can lose the weight I just gained in a healthy way.

Replies

• Diatonic12
    Diatonic12 Posts: 32,344 Member
    Doing what we've always done will get us what we've always gotten.

All or Nothing thinking about food. We rarely get all but mostly nothing with this approach. How long have you been on this merry-go-round. These things don't develop in a couple of months of time and it's going to take more than a couple of months to turn this ship around. It might take you 2-5 years so just know that going in.

This isn't about willpower or motivation because those are limited resources. Those are based out of emotions and as you've found out using emotions to claw your way back to the top of the mountain wears you out. It doesn't last.

There's only choices and consequences. This is going to require due diligence and rational thinking to climb your way out of binge eating. Binge eating usually begins earlier in life around the age of 18-25 years of age. If you're in that number the sooner you can get a grip on this the better off you'll be. You don't want to fight this for the rest of your life.

No one here can give you a medical diagnosis. I suggest sitting down with someone face-to-face. This is about skills. It's not about dieting or trying to outexercise it. You need tools.