Calorie deficit

Options
Hi. I am new to counting calories I know somewhat bout it but still a little unclear on it. I have a question for anyone who can answer. My calorie deficit is 1,490 and I see on other macro calculators it say I should be eating around 1,700. I am 5"2 and weight ruffly around 130-133 lb.

Replies

• quiksylver296
    quiksylver296 Posts: 28,442 Member
    Options
    This site expects you to add back your exercise calories and eat those. The other sites add exercise calories in at the beginning.

That’s where the other 200ish calories come from. It all equals out.
  • laranas23
    laranas23 Posts: 11 Member
    Options
    @quiksylver296 Hi. Thanks for replying. So it is best that I stay at the 1,700 calories instead?.
  • AnnPT77
    AnnPT77 Posts: 32,070 Member
    Options
    MFP gives you a calorie estimate that's intended to be based on daily life activity level *excluding* intentional exercise, and expects you to log the exercise separately when you do some. Most other calculators estimate total calories including your intentional exercise. Therefore, it's pretty typical to get a lower goal from MFP. For most people, MFP estimate + exercise (called NEAT method, for Non-Exercise Activity Thermogenesis) is approximately equal to other calculators' total-calories estimate (called TDEE method, for Total Daily Energy Expenditure).

Some people prefer one method, some prefer the other. My main exercise is seasonal and weather-dependent, so I like the MFP NEAT method, personally.
  • laranas23
    Options
    @AnnPT77 Thanks for the advice. I am still trying to figure things out with this. it's just Me making sure I am eating the right calorie deficit. I notice that I have lost weight trying it for two weeks with MFP but decided to up it cause someone told Me that 1,490 calories was too low. My husband also said just follow MFP!. So you would say stick with MFP as well?
  • quiksylver296
    quiksylver296 Posts: 28,442 Member
    Options