Serial starter - in need of buddies

I'm one of those "use the app for a month" people then I fall off the wagon.

I've put on a stone over the festive period and I'm the heaviest I've ever been (12st 3lbs)! I'm only 5"2 so unfortunately it shows and puts me in the obese category. Weighing myself this morning was devastating! I feel so embarrassed and ashamed. I was always one of those eat what you want skinny folk until I hit 26/27. Now 32, my weight has crept up after being in a comfortable relationship and I have a serious snacking problem. I know Covid doesn't help at the moment but I'm trying not to use it as an excuse.

I'm determined I need to change my lifestyle and get this extra weight off, both for my self esteem and my health. Type 2 Diabetes and NAFLD runs in my family so I don't want to follow in the footsteps of my mother.

I'm a nurse so I find I have to eat at erratic times when I have the time. We've recently got a labrador so I've been out walking and playing with him once a day which has definitely helped my step count. Also hoping to get back into cycling this year as I used to when I was younger and loved it. I have to enjoy exercise or I won't stick at it.

My fiance and I are attempting to change our diet together as we've both put on the pounds lately.

Any help/suggestions would be great, I want to make sure I stick at it this time and make positive changes instead of abandoning it when it gets too tough or inconvenient!

B x

Replies

• Jpedno
    Jpedno Posts: 301 Member
    Feel free to add me as a friend. I also often start for a month then fall off. I’m 5’ and need to lose at least 30 lbs. I recently turned 40 and need to get this weight off now!
  • SGP53015
    SGP53015 Posts: 3 Member
    Same here! Feel free to add me as a friend. I'm a 5'8, 63 yr old grandma. I seriously need to lose 35 lbs. Logging everything that goes in my mouth and attempting exercise 3x a week. (I blame my weight gain on Covid-brain!)