I was on escitalopram, gained 50 pounds in 9 months

Lgonz23
Lgonz23 Posts: 2 Member
Hi everyone!

I started using MFP about 10 years ago, in highschool, when the app was new. I've been on it ever since but haven't used it everyday.

Body image has always been an issue. In highschool I worked hard to stay thin as I was a bit thicker in junior high. Never an issue but I didn't like what I saw. In my early/mid 20s I gained about 20 pounds due to stress eating but lost it at the same rate I gained it.

Now I'm almost 29 and about two years ago I went on an antianxiety med, escitalopram, which is known to cause weight gain. I gained 50 pounds in 9 months. This is the heaviest I've ever been in my life and I feel so unhealthy. I also decided to return to school and now I'm a nursing student so I'm not as active.

The last time I gained weight I was still very active, my job was active, I went to the gym and the minute I removed myself from a stressful relationship I began to lose weight.

Going back to school and doing nursing school through covid has been stressful but it feels different this time, as stressful as school and adulthood is I'm genuinely happy and love what I'm doing. I can't seem to deal with the weight gain, it's so much different this time and I feel stuck.

I feel so unhealthy and unlike myself. I want to go back to proper routine, healthy habits and physical activity.

I seem to be stuck on a loop of being so down about the fact I gained so much weight in a short period of time that I'm stuck in a stress eating phase and can't bring myself back to where I was right before I started the medication.