Creatine

Just curious if anyone has any opinions on creatine supplements? Good or Bad. I've been working out pretty seriously for over six months. Dropped 20 pounds of almost all fat and now working on lowering my body fat percentage. My trainer has recommended I try using a creatine supplement. Wanted to get some opinions an recommendations for brands.

Replies

• tbilly20
    tbilly20 Posts: 154 Member
    I am sure people have their views on creatine, whey and other supplements. I did some research when I started taking it, and it seems pretty safe to use in normal doses even over extended time. I’ve looked at expensive, organic whey compounds and inexpensive options as well. I decided on the cheaper version to see what I would feel. After a month of using an Aldi brand ($11 for 2lbs), I can say that it dissolves just fine, it gives a boost prior to a workout, and tastes ok in Almond milk. I am only taking one serving per day, either 15-30 minutes before or after a workout.

Just my experience!
  • sijomial
    sijomial Posts: 19,809 Member
    Creatine is well studied, well proven, inexpensive and if you respond to it somewhat effective.
    Suggest you have a read about it on Examine.com for a non-biased guide to what type to buy, dosage etc.
    https://examine.com/supplements/creatine/

Personal experience from two trials:
    First time absolutely no response either good or bad. Couldn't tell any difference, could just have been drinking gritty water.
    Second time only noticeable response was an upset stomach.

Could be I simply get enough creatine from my usual foods (I have a big calorie allowance), could be I'm a non-responder. Could be like my wife says that I'm totally insensitive... :noway:

Little reason not to trial it for yourself.

• sijomial
    tbilly20 wrote: »