special occasions

Options
rbcloftus
rbcloftus Posts: 12
edited November 2023 in Getting Started
I'd like to say I'm new to the weightloss thing but I'm not really - I've just never been very good at it (Very little will power and I like all the "naughty" things) but I'm focussing now because I've got a holiday to Mexico planned for the September '14 so I want to looking banging in a bikini and not worry about feeling like an elephant!

But my concern is special occasions, birthdays, office drinks, leaving do's, you know all the things that involve too much alchohol and not enough salad! the first one i have to worry about is on the 26th September - my boyfriend's mum's birthday, it's a month away so should I use this as a goal? be really good until then and then have a treat? we're going to her favourite chinese restraunt so i can't even get away with ordering a salad... do i eat before but just go anyway? or reward myself for a really healthy month?

HELP!

Replies

• NaomiJFoster
    NaomiJFoster Posts: 1,450 Member
    Options
    First of all, you need to know that Birthday Cake never has any calories. Truth!!!! You can't convince me otherwise.

But really, just like everything else, moderation is key. Those occasions are going to come up. And you kind of have to participate. But you don't have to gorge yourself. Moderation. Take a 1/2 piece of birthday cake, walk to the other side of the room, eat your piece very slowly. Drinks out with coworkers...you aren't obligated to have alcohol. You can have water. Or alternate alcoholic beverages with a glasses of water. It takes some thought, but it's doable. It's just about making new habits. But I think if you 100% say 'no' to all of those things, you're going to end up feeling deprived of both the food and the social interactions. And that's when bad reactions happen.
  • bound4beauty
    bound4beauty Posts: 274 Member
    Options