Myfitnesspal

Message Boards Food and Nutrition
You are currently viewing the message boards in:

Intermittent Fasting Lifestyle & Tracking

foodmomfoodmom Member Posts: 7 Member Member Posts: 7 Member
I am new to the lifestyle of intermittent fasting - currently fasting between 14 and 16 hours. Experts say not to track calories, points, etc. but to rely on intuition and listening to one's body to know when to eat and when to stop. I am curious how many people on here who following IF still track calories and macros?

Replies

• wilson10102018wilson10102018 Member Posts: 944 Member Member Posts: 944 Member
    Hahaha! That's the strategy that got most of us here. If we had good intuition and stopped when we had enough to eat no one would need any diet approach. Jesse Ventura said it best: "just push back from the table." Easy, right?
  • L1zardQueenL1zardQueen Member Posts: 8,530 Member Member Posts: 8,530 Member
    I still track the calories consumed. Even if you don’t count those pesky calories, your body still does.
  • ThoinThoin Member Posts: 374 Member Member Posts: 374 Member
    foodmom wrote: »
    I am new to the lifestyle of intermittent fasting - currently fasting between 14 and 16 hours. Experts say not to track calories, points, etc. but to rely on intuition and listening to one's body to know when to eat and when to stop. I am curious how many people on here who following IF still track calories and macros?

I hope to one day be at this point that I know when to stop eating. That being said, I do know that eating slowly helps with feeling full. It was a game changer for me but not a magic wand.
  • bombshell1229bombshell1229 Member Posts: 1 Member Member Posts: 1 Member
    I don't count calories doing IF but I keep food diary to be mindful of what I'm eating. Also just common sense. 2 cooked meals with lean protein, whole grains, plenty veg, and some fats. Then snack on fruit and some tasty treats.