Running speed help needed

I've been jogging for about 4 months now, having walked daily for 18 months.
I am going about 3 or 4 times a week, with a one-hour bootcamp twice a week, occasionally swimming or cycling instead of a run and a few squash games thrown in.
I had a target in mind, to run 10k by the end of term. I've managed that, in fact done it a couple of times now.
My next challenge is to get faster.bim currently running 9 minute kms average over 10k. I really want to get down to 7 or even 6minute kms.
I've tried fartlek running but I really struggled with it. I can run for 90 minutes or more at my slow pace, but as soon as I speed up I can't last long at all. At my 9 minute pace, my breathing is easy and it's my legs that give out first. As soon as I try to go faster, I struggle with rhythm and breathing.
How can I build up speed so I'm running 10k regularly at 7 minutes a km? Do I even need to worry about speed?
I've lost nearly 50kg and hoped as I got lighter I'd get faster, but that hasn't happened!

Replies

• Lietchi
    Lietchi Posts: 6,035 Member
    edited April 2021
    Speed comes with time.
    I'm not an expert runner (I started 18 months ago, as slow as you) but I've found mixing it up is a good idea. I alternate between longer slower runs, shorter/medium runs at a slightly quicker speed, shorter/medium runs doing intervals, and runs where I start slow and increase my speed gradually every few minutes.
    My speed has gradually increased from 9+ min km to currently sub 8min km. I have no natural talent for running 🤪 so that's pretty good progress for me. (Also taking into account 3 months where I had to seriously dial down the running because of knee issues)
  • evefryer
    evefryer Posts: 2 Member