Insanity diet-Confused

Options
Hi all, Im new to mfp and whilst its been really helpful and packed with loads of useful information, I am somewhat confused on this topic because there is so much varying opinions.

Im on a 1400 cal a day diet while on insanity. im petite (4ft 8.5 and 62kg (136lbs)) so i only burn about 200 cals during the workouts. my net cal intake is 1200 cal at the end of the day.

I am following the 40% protein/40% carbohydrates/20% fat ratio diet as recommended on the Insanity nutrition plan.

I have calculated that 560 cals will come from protein, 560 calories from carbohydrates and 280 calories from fat.

In terms of grams, i will be consuming: 140g of protein (since 1g of protein has 4 calories)
140g of carbs (since 1g of carbs has 4 calories)
31g of fat (since 1g of fat has 9 calories)

I wanted to know am I consuming too much protein? is 140g a day too much? since I have read that the daily amount needed by your body is 0.8g/kilo/day...which means that I should only be having 49.6g a day.

I plan to do insanity twice which will take 5 months and I dont want to cause long term damage to my kidneys and liver.

Replies

• TyTy76
    TyTy76 Posts: 1,761 Member
    Options
    Well you need to be eating more in genral.

Insanity is intense, and they reccommend MINIMUM 1800 calories a day.
  • Star_1234
    Star_1234 Posts: 123 Member
    Options
    bump
  • Lyadeia
    Lyadeia Posts: 4,603 Member
    Options
    Eating 140g of protein per day will NOT adversely effect your kidneys or liver. You don't need to worry about that at all.
  • shivles
    shivles Posts: 468 Member
    Options
    You'll need lots of food an lots of protein on insanity, have you worked out your calories on the insanity plan? Yours seems very low.
  • itsjustdawn
    itsjustdawn Posts: 1,073 Member
    Options
    Yeah you need more calories...
  • joolywooly33
    joolywooly33 Posts: 421 Member
    Options