Senior Newbie ...

hello to all :) thrilled to be part of a support group but I am not tech savvy :( my main purpose is to lose weight .. I am a senior and would fit better in that community I believe ... can anyone guide me in that direction please? I am a female, 61 years old

thank you,

Victoria

Replies

• booboo1000
    booboo1000 Posts: 58 Member
    Hi @VictoriaInTheHouse, 61 here as well. I’m in maintenance now, and did not and still do not use all the tech MFP offers.

I lost a lot my first year by being careful and thoughtful, and then, when I could face weighing myself, got back to MFP for the last pounds. I didn’t know how much more I wanted to lose as my goals were ten pounds at a time, but I ended up losing about 25 more.

My use is almost exclusively in logging food and tracking nutrients. I anticipate logging my food choices for a very long time Into the future to manage my maintenance. I suggest you take a look at the posts in threads titled “over 60” or “over 50” for camaraderie from people our age who also are in this.

Best, Boo
  • AnnPT77
    AnnPT77 Posts: 34,017 Member
    edited November 2021
    Hi, Victoria, and welcome to the MFP Community.

One of the kind of threads @booboo1000 mentioned is this one:

https://community.myfitnesspal.com/en/discussion/10718336/60-yrs-and-up#latest

Don't be alarmed if you open it up and the first page has old posts. It's still active: The new posts are at the end, on the high-number pages. You can use the page-navigation controls above/below the post listing to go to a more recent page, if you like. Any thread that's been going on a long time will be like this, new posts at end.